Fidelis Blog

Comments

Get Ready for Cybersecurity Awareness Month

Cyber-attacks have been around for a long time—longer than you may realize. They continually evolve. They do more damage, cost organizations more money and damage brand reputation. These attacks are affecting a growing number and variety of users worldwide. No one is immune, and everyone has a part to play in cybersecurity.

Here is a brief look at the history of notable cyber-attack types, including where they started, and where they stand today. See if you can spot the common element behind these historical attacks.

See Yourself in Cyber

This year, Fidelis Cybersecurity celebrates Cybersecurity Awareness Month by embracing the theme, See Yourself in Cyber. We’re more digitally connected now than ever before. No matter who you are, where you work, or what you do, you can play an active role in keeping yourself, your organization, and your connections and devices safe.

Be sure to subscribe to the Threat Geek blog and follow along as we explore cybersecurity at an organizational and personal level. We plan on having some fun in the process, including quizzes, fun facts, and a lot more. Be sure you’re connected to our LinkedIn channel, too!

The fun starts next week with the latest threat research report, and tips and tricks you can use to know who is lurking on your network and in your cloud.

Sources:
Fluid Attacks, “What was the First Cyberattack?,” Feb 2022, https://fluidattacks.com/blog/first-cyberattack.
Okta, “What is the Morris Worm? History and Modern Impacts,” https://www.okta.com/identity-101/morris-worm.
FBI, “Morris Worm,” https://www.fbi.gov/history/famous-cases/morris-worm.
Security Boulevard, “Battle in the Cloud: Preventing DDoS Attacks,” Sept 2022, https://securityboulevard.com/2022/09/battle-in-the-cloud-preventing-ddos-attacks.
Ransomware.org, “The First Ransomware Attack: Lessons Learned from History,” Mar 2022, https://ransomware.org/blog/the-first-ransomware-attack-lessons-learned-from-history.
Wired, “The Untold Story of NotPetya, the Most Devastating Cyberattack in History,” Aug 2018, https://www.wired.com/story/notpetya-cyberattack-ukraine-russia-code-crashed-the-world.
Cybercrime Magazine, “Global Ransomware Damage Costs Predicted To Exceed $265 Billion By 2031,” Jun 2022, https://cybersecurityventures.com/global-ransomware-damage-costs-predicted-to-reach-250-billion-usd-by-2031.
Digicert, “A Brief History of Phishing,” https://www.websecurity.digicert.com/security-topics/brief-history-phishing-part-1.
DeltaNet International, “5 of the Most Expensive Phishing Scams in History,” https://www.delta-net.com/blog/5-of-the-most-expensive-phishing-scams-in-history.
Cybertalk.org, “14 Phishing Red Flags to Watch for in 2022,” Feb 2022, https://www.cybertalk.org/2022/02/28/14-phishing-red-flags-to-watch-for-in-2022.
Cybersecurity Dive, “How Much Does Phishing Really Cost the Enterprise,” Apr 2021, https://www.cybersecuritydive.com/news/phishing-cost-enterprise/605110.

Stay up to date on all things security

Subscribe to the Threat Geek Blog